UFO Raspberry Hefeweizen

5.1% ABV

My love of fruit–not fruity, fruit–beers is fairly well documented. Now it might be considered quote unquote “gay” to like fruit-packed brews, but when you’re often also throwing back 12% ABV bombers with abandon, I’m not sure you need to prove your drinking mettle. In fact, a lot of these so-called fruit beers pack a bigger punch that a Budweiser. And ain’t no one gonna call that truck driver at the end of the bar drinking Buds some sort of sissy.

If I buy any sort of beer on a whim, it’s gotta be fruit beer. Oooh, raspberry hefe? Sign me up. I’m a sucker for a fruit beer, the stranger the fruit the better (I love Saranac’s Pomegranate Wheat but really struggle to find it). The only problem with most fruit beers is that they simply aren’t fruity enough. I’m not asking to be pelted with fruitiness like from a Lindemans or even a Kastel Rouge–though I adore both of those–but I still want to taste the frikkin’ fruit that is supposedly in the beer. A lot of these fruit beers just taste like a bad ale with like a single, puny berry squeezed into them.

That’s not the case here, however, this one tastes like a delicious, juicy raspberry. Although, I wouldn’t call the beer mind-blowing or anything. Not really wheaty at all. Though considered a hefe on it’s bottle, I’m loathe to even categorize it as one. This is most clearly a fruit beer. Probably smells a little better than it tastes. Worth giving it a shot though. I’d like to mix one up with a Blue Point Blueberry and make the gayest berry berry beer cocktail evah!

B

(Hopefully you’re not as big of dope as me. I’d seen the UFO label on certain Harpoon beers for ages. I just assumed it was cool little name for a certain line of their brews. Uh uh. It actually is an acronym for UnFiltered Offering. Hey, good to know.)

Leave a Reply

