Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA

6% ABV on draught

Simply put: I love Dogfish Head 60 Minute. If I am at a bar with it on tap, it is all I can do to not simply sit and drink pint after pint after pint of it all night long, to the detriment of my further explorations of beers I haven’t had before. Were I a beer nerd, I would say this is my absolute favorite “session” beer. Not a lot of macro-swilling folks know that term. It’s fancified jargon snobs use to denote a beer they drink one after another after another all through the night, or after like 2 or 3 pints, the amount that will usually get them so intoxicated they start yelling at their “help.” I am not a snob, however, nor do I like my friends to think me a pompous ass, so I rarely use the term “session” when it comes to drinking heavily. I would simply say that I love to drink DFH 60 as often and as frequently as possible, it is so damn good. Beer Advocate has a pretty swell definition of session beer:

session beer
n.

Any beer that contains no higher than 5 percent ABV, featuring a balance between malt and hop characters (ingredients) and, typically, a clean finish – a combination of which creates a beer with high drinkability. The purpose of a session beer is to allow a beer drinker to have multiple beers, within a reasonable time period or session, without overwhelming the senses or reaching inappropriate levels of intoxication.

I agree with their definition but I like to be wasted (ie. reach inappropriate levels of intoxication) by the end of my night if I’m “sessioning” and thus that extra 1% ABV that DFH 60 has above Beer Advocate’s recommended maximum of 5% is perfect. DFH 60 makes getting drunk accomplished in the most pleasant way possible. As I become more of a connoisseur, I find that I “session” less and less, preferring to simply have a bomber or two or three of different high-ABV brews over the course of an evening. But at least once a week, a man needs to tie one on. For you, average Joe, your session beer could be pitchers of Bud, buckets of Coors, or tallboy can after can of that noted Pabst offering that won a first prize ribbon so recently. My usual session beers are Brooklyn Lager, Sam Adams, or Yuengling—all decent enough brews—but DFH 60 trumps them all.

I’ve always felt that the quality of their IPA is THE true measure of how good a brewery is. Good IPA = good brewery. It’s typically the style of beer I first sample (along with a barley wine if the brewery has one) when investigating a new brewery. Well, 60 Minute is so flavorful with a seemingly perfect level of hops and malts that you know you are dealing with a masterly beermaker. It’s not too sweet, not too bitter, and my god is it drinkable. And, I always wake up the next afternoon after a happy-hour-to-last-call session with DFH 60 wondering “Wha’ happened?” Now that’s a great beer.

A

One Response to Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA

  1. Taco Town Dave says:

    Just had the 90 and it was greatness.

Leave a Reply

